Literary Agents – a helpful list

Hello and finally I have a second blog post! I’m just tearing up the internet, here. But I have big news! I have an agent (did I really just type those words?) – I am represented by the lovely Alice Speilburg of Speilburg Literary, and it’s a dream come true.

It was a long, hard slog to get an agent. In the spirit of helpfulness and not wanting all my work to go to waste, I’ve compiled a list of all the agencies I found who represent fantasy. There are more, I’m sure, but this is a start.

First of all, here are a few websites you need to check out.

Query Tracker (aka this is your life now):     http://querytracker.net/literary_agents.php
Predators and Editors: http://pred-ed.com
Helpful list of agencies: http://www.literaryrejections.com/us-literary-agencies/
Sci Fi & Fantasy Writers of America: http://www.sfwa.org/for-authors/writer-beware/

On to agents.  It goes: Name of agency – name of agent – website – method of submission – what they represent. Let’s get started!

All of the below agents accept email queries.

1    Nelson agency    Sara    http://nelsonagency.com/submission-guidelines/    query letter only
2    Liza Dawson Associates Literary Agency    CAITLIN BLASDELL    http://www.lizadawsonassociates.com/submissions.html    Query letter    Urban Fantasy
3    Waxman    Holly Root    http://www.waxmanleavell.com/about-agency    query letter    Urban Fantasy
4    Nancy Yost Literary    Adrienne Rosado    http://www.nyliterary.com/www.nyliterary.com/__Adrienne_Rosado.html    query letter and sample, can be an attachment    Urban Fantasy
5    Aponte Literary    no specific agent    http://aponteliterary.com/    query letter and first 50 pages    Paranormal Fiction
6    Fine Print Literary Management    Rachel Coyne    http://fineprintlit.com    query letter and synopsis and the FIRST two chapters via email    Urban Fantasy
7    Jennifer D. Chiara Literary Agency    Roseanne Wells    http://jdlit.com    Query and first ten pages
8    The Knight Agency    Nephele Tempest    http://knightagency.net/manuscript_submissions/    Query letter    Fantasy
9    Harvey Klinger, Inc.     Andrea Somberg    “http://www.andreasomberg.com/cms/submissions
”    query letter, first five pages    Paranormal/ Fantasy
10    Curtis Brown, ltd    Ginger Clark    http://www.curtisbrown.com/clark.php    Query letter    Fantasy
11    Donald Maass Literary Agency    Cameron McClure    http://www.maassagency.com/agents.html    Query letter and first five pages    Urban Fantasy
12    Dunham Literary        http://dunhamlit.com/?bridget-smith,17    Query letter    Fantasy
13    Defiore and Company    Rebecca Strauss    http://www.defioreandco.com/about/rebecca-strauss    Query letter, bio(?), first five pages    Urban Fantasy
14    Jaberwocky    Lisa Rodgers    http://awfulagent.com/agents    Query letter and 25 pages    Sci-Fi/Fantasy
15    Prospect Agency    Becca Stumpf    http://www.prospectagency.com/zoo.html    query letter, three chapters and a brief synopsis    Genre Fiction
16    New Leaf Literary    Joanna Volpe    http://www.newleafliterary.com/submissions.cfm    query letter, five page sample    Speculative Fiction
17    Laurie McLean    Laurie McLean    http://agentsavant.com/submissions/    query, 10 pgs, 1-2 pg snopsis    Fantasy
18    Stuart Krichevsky Literary Agency    Shana Cohen    http://www.skagency.com/submissions/    query letter, synopsis, and the first two pages    Sci-Fi/Fantasy
19    Inklings Literary Agency    Margaret Bail    http://inklingsliterary.com/About_Us.html    query letter, synopsis, first ten pages    Fantasy
20    McIntosh & Otis    Shira Hoffman    http://mcintoshandotis.com    Query letter, synopsis, author bio, first 30 pages
21    Gelfman Schneider Literary Agency    Victoria Marini    http://www.gelfmanschneider.com/about-us.html    please send a query letter, synopsis, and sample (no more than 40 pages)    Women’s fiction (Fantasy)
22    Speilburg Literary    Alice Speilburg    http://speilburgliterary.com/    query letter along with three sample chapters for fiction    Fantasy
23    Bradford Literary Agency    Laura Bradford    http://www.bradfordlit.com/submission-guidelines/    query letter, first chapter, synopsis    Urban Fantasy
24    Harold Ober Associates    Kathleen Zakhar    http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/guide-to-literary-agents/new-literary-agent-alert-kathleen-zakhar-of-harold-ober-associates    query letter, synopsis, first ten pages    Fantasy
25    Howard Morhaim Literary Agency Inc.    Kate McKean    http://www.morhaimliterary.com/submissions.html    Query and first three chapters    Urban Fantasy
26    Folio Literary Management    Jita Fumich    http://foliolit.com/jita-fumich/    Query and first 5 pages    Fantasy
27    Talcott Notch Literary Services, LLC    Sara D’Emic    http://talcottnotch.net/    Query letter and first 10 pages    Fantasy
28    Lowenstein Associates    Emily Gref    http://www.lowensteinassociates.com/agent_emily.html    query letter and first 10 pages    Fantasy
29    Victoria Sanders Literary Agency    Bernadette Baker-Baughmann    http://www.victoriasanders.com/about    Query and first 25 pages    Fantasy
30    Red Sofa Literary    Jennie Goloboy    http://redsofaliterary.com/representative-categories/    Query letter only    Fantasy
31    Veritas Literary Agency    Michael Carr    http://www.veritasliterary.com/about.shtml    Query letter and first 5 pages    Fantasy
32    Helen Rees Agency    Rebecca Podos    http://www.reesagency.com/agentssubmissions    Query and first few chapters    Urban Fantasy
33    Jean V. Naggar Literary Agency, Inc.    Laura Biagi    http://www.jvnla.com    Form website    Fantasy
34    Wolf Literary Services    Adriann Ranta    http://wolflit.com/    query and 50 page writing sample    Fantasy
35    Francis Collin, Literary Ageny    Francis Collin    http://www.francescollin.com/queries.htm    query and first 5 pages (not specified)    Fantasy
36    Richard Henshaw Group LLC    Susannah Taylor     http://richardhenshawgroup.com/submissions/    250 word query    Fantasy
37    Triada US Literary Agency Inc.     Dr. Uwe Stender    http://www.triadaus.com/FictionSub.htm    query letter only    General
38    Lotus Lane Literary    Priya Doraswamy    http://lotuslit.com/submissions/    query letter, brief synopsis, chapter breakdown(?), first three chapters    General
39    L. Perkins Agency    Sandy Lu    http://lperkinsagency.com/submission_guidelines    query and first five pages    Urban Fantasy
40    Meredith Bernstein Literary Agency    Meredith Bernstein    http://www.meredithbernsteinliteraryagency.com/submission-guidelines/    just query letter via website    Fantasy
41    Stringer Literary Agency    Marlene Stringer    http://www.stringerlit.com/contact/    Query letter – form website    Fantasy
42    Trident Media Group    John Silbersack    http://www.tridentmediagroup.com/agents/john-silbersack    Query letter – form website    Fantasy
43    Scovil Galen Ghosh Literary Agency, Inc.     Russel Galen    http://www.sgglit.com/submissions.htm    just query letter    Fantasy
44    Jill Grinberg Literary    Jill Grinberg    http://www.jillgrinbergliterary.com/    query and first 50 pages as a .doc (only)    Fantasty
45    Cooke Agency    Sally Harding    http://www.cookeagency.ca/submissions.htm    query and first four pages    Fantasy
46    Anne McDermid and Associates    Ms. Monica Pacheco    http://www.mcdermidagency.com/submissions.cfm    Query letter and first five pages    Fantasy
47    Fox Literary Agency    Diana Fox    http://www.agentquery.com/agent.aspx?agentid=917    query and first five pages    Fantasy
48    Stonesong Literary Agency    Emmanuelle Morgen    http://stonesong.com/literary-agency/submissions/    Query letter and first ten pages    Fantasy
49    Lotts Agency    Chris Lotts    http://www.agentquery.com/agent_print.aspx?agentid=246    query and first 5-10 pages    Urban Fantasy
50    Writer’s House    Jodi Reamer    http://publishersmarketplace.com/members/JReamer/    Query letter and first ten pages    Fantasy
51    Paradigm Literary Agency    Jason Yarn    http://www.paradigmagency.com/divisions/publishing/contact    Query and 10 pages
52    Sanford J. Greenburger Associates    Matt Bialer    http://greenburger.com/agents/    query and 3 chapters as attachment    Fantasy
53    Sternig and Byrne Literary Agency    Jack Byrne    http://www.sff.net/people/jackbyrne/submissions.htm    Query letter only    Fantasy
54    Laura Dail Literary Agency    Tamar Rydzinski    http://ldlainc.com/agents/    Query letter, synopsis, 10 pages (latter 2 not required)    General
55    CK Webber Associates    Carlie Webber    http://ckwebber.com/submissions.html    Query letter, synopsis, 30 pages, can be as attached docs    Fantasy
56    McCarthy Agency    Shawna McCarthy    http://agentquery.com/agent.aspx?agentid=509    not sure?    Fantasy
57    Ethan Ellenberg Literary Agency    Ethan Ellenberg    http://ethanellenberg.com/    query, synopsis, first 50 pages    Fantasy
58    Janklow & Nesbit Associates    Alexandra Machinist    http://www.janklowandnesbit.com/submissions    cover letter, a brief synopsis and the first ten pages.    Fantasy
59    Dystel & Goderich Literary Management    Jim McCarthy    http://www.dystel.com/staff-e-mail/    query, summary, sample chapter    Fantasy
60    Dee Mura Literary    Kimiko Nakamura or Kaylee Davis       http://deemuraliterary.squarespace.com/about-us/    Query, synopsis, first 25 pages    Urban Fantasy
61    “Linn Prentis Literary ”    Aquisitions editor    http://www.linnprentis.com/submissions.html    query letter, synopsis, first ten pages    Fantasy
62    Corvisiero Agency     Marisa A. Corvisiero    http://www.corvisieroagency.com/Marisa_A_Corvisiero.html    query letter, synopsis and 5 pages as separate word docs    Fantasy
63    Spencerhill Associates, Ltd.    Jennifer Schober    http://spencerhillassociates.com/index.php/Submissions/    Query letter, synopsis and first three chapters in an attachment    Fantasy (I think)
64    Sandra Dijkstra Literary Agency    Thao Lee    http://www.dijkstraagency.com/submission-guidelines.html    query letter, a 1-page synopsis, a brief bio (including a description of your publishing history), and the first 10-15 pages of your manuscript.     Fantasy
65    Kimberly Cameron    Pooja Menon    http://www.kimberleycameron.com/submission-guidelines.php    Query letter, one page synopsis, first 50 pages    Fantasy
66    The Gernert Company    Seth Fishman or Andy Kifer    http://www.thegernertco.com/our-team/    “query letter describing the work you’d like to
submit, along with some information about yourself and a sample chapter
if appropriate”    Sci-Fi/Fantasy
67    Irene Goodman Literary Agency    Miriam Kriss    http://www.irenegoodman.com/about.php    query letter and the first ten pages, along with a synopsis (3-5 paragraphs) and bio    Urban Fantasy
68    Foundry Literary + Media    Hannah Brown Gordon    http://www.foundrymedia.com/team/hannah    Query letter, synopsis, first three chapters    Fantasy

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s